Vegan travelling to Saigon, Vietnam // food tips for the road

I’m in Vietnam since a week now. I travelled from Saigon, Ho Chi Minh City, to the Mekong Delta and back to get to the center of Vietnam, Da Nang and to Hoi An. I like this country so far. There are lots of really nice and helpful people, the weather is hot but I could handle that.

If I travelled on a sleeping bus there was a woman sitting next to me. If the bus stopped and some food traiders come into the bus for selling their fruits and vegetables, this woman offered me immediately one of her buttercorn (it was made with plant oil, i smelled it). She was so sweet! I really love the people

image
image

But when it comes to vegan food in general it could get a bit difficult for you. I would like to share some tips with you.

1.) Make a list
image

Write down your favorite things you’d like to eat and ask your receptionist at the hotel to put it down in the spoken language for you. Or get it from the menu if you’re in a restaurant where they translate their dishes.

2.) Whenever your in a supermarket where they sell any kinds of vegan food like fruit, bread, jam or whatever, get what you could carry and store. Just in case…

image

Noodles with veggies and nuts at the l’usine.

image

3.) don’t be shy

Ask the waiter if you could have just a rice/noodles with vegetables. That should be ok all around asia.

4.) eat a lot
If you’re in a restaurant with vegan food then eat as much as you can 🙂 You don’t have to starve a long time till you find another food court.

You don’t have to be scared of asia because you’re vegan. There’s always a way to get good food for you! But sometimes it turns out that eating vegetarian is a good compromise here in Vietnam, because you never know what they especially put on the veggies or in the soup even if it looks ,clean‘. I really enjoy my time up here and I hope you liked the quick tips for the road.

What do you do as a vegan abroad? Any tips I might add to this list?

I had some great experiences here in Saigon at these places:

– the khanhcasa tea house http://khanhcasa.com

– the hum restaurant http://www.hum-vegetarian.vn/default.aspx

– the l’usine restaurant http://lusinespace.com

xoxo,

Alex

Kommentar verfassen

