Vegantravelling to Sri Lanka…

Ayubovan, vegans…

I’m sitting on the balcony of my guesthouse in Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka watching the sunset and I know, it’s defi time for some update and of course, another nlogpost. So sorry, but travelling is such a busy time 🙂 I like Sri Lanka, it’s a crazy island with lots of kind people, good but spicy food and awesome animals. The landscape is stunning and there are mountains over rain forrests, coasts and lots more to see. But the one thing I don’t like at all is the transportation. There is really a problem when it comes to backpacking here- well, if you want to go to other places than just the south. You need to take buses, local non air conditioned and super fast buses. Sometimes you think you’re gona die in these crazy vehicles and a way of 230 km takes you about 8 hours. BUT I’m glad being here and that’s the way it is here in Lanka.

In the beginning I lived in the house of a friend of mine in Kandy, the holy city. There were a lot of invitations from friends and Sri Lankan people could eat the whole day. 😉

Well there are great vegan options like rotthi, if it’s made with oil. You could eat it spicy or not, but it is really delicious! The best I’ve had was in Hikkaduwa, in the south.

image

The mum of my friend always cooked for us in the evening, that was real Sri Lankan vegan food and so tasty. I had jackfruit curry, lentils, chickpeas, soybeans and much more options every day.

image

image

The fruit is like everywhere else in Asia just awesome…

image

Every morning I’m eating fresh papaya, pineapple, bananas, mangoes (I learned eating them with my hands. Happens if youre travelling 8 hours by bus) and things like woodapples.

image

I don’t know what I should think about these fruit. It was not delicious neither bad… But it’s supposed to be super healthy so give it a try once you’re here.

Another thing you have to try is real Sri Lankan breakfast. Have a tea (or coffee) and some kind of this:

imageRhotti with tomato curry (awesome!!!(, potatoes and lentil something. It was just great but I couldn’t eat that heavy kind of breakfast every day.

I’m staying here until the 2nd of June and after Anuradhapura I’m going to the beach, FINALLY! After Sri Lanka I will go to Bali- not sure yet for how long.

Have you been to Sri Lanka? Which kind of food have you tried here? Any recommends?

XOXO, Alex

Kommentar verfassen

